Here’s How To Delete Your YouTube Account in Just a Few Easy Steps


Tired of YouTube? In this guide, we’ll teach you how to delete your YouTube account in just a few quick steps.

Before we begin, it’s important to recognize that even though there are a couple of different methods for deleting your account, they are both permanent. They will delete certain aspects of your online history, which can never be recovered.

If you’re happy with that and you’re sure that just changing your YouTube account name won’t help, read on.

Just YouTube or Google too?

With the way Google accounts are linked across different services, there are levels to how much of your account you might actually want to delete. You can remove your YouTube channel, which deletes all of your videos, comments, messages, and playlists, but the account itself will still remain accessible. Or you can go the whole hog and remove the account from Google’s records entirely.

Consider which route you want to go down and then pick one of the following instruction sets to follow.

Delete your YouTube channel (and other associated content): Desktop method

Delete YouTube channel screenshot
screenshot

Step 1: Log in to YouTube Studio using the account of the channel you want to delete. Choose Settings from the left side of the screen.

Step 2: On the next screen, choose Channel and then select the Advanced Settings tab.

Step 3: Under Advanced Settings, scroll down until you see the Remove YouTube Content option. Click on that option. This will open another tab, and you’ll be asked to sign in to your account again. Go ahead and do so.

Step 4: Click on the option labeled I Want to Permanently Delete My Content. Selecting this option will expand it into a short explanation of what this decision actually means with a check box next to it. Read the explanation, and then select the check box if you understand it and still want to delete your YouTube channel.

Delete YouTube Channel content final steps screenshot
screenshot

Step 5: If you’re absolutely sure that you want to delete your YouTube channel, go ahead and click on the blue Delete My Content button.

Delete your YouTube channel (and other associated content): For Android

delete Youtube account on android step 1 screenshot
screenshot

Step 1: Open the YouTube app on your device. Tap on your Profile Picture icon in the top-right corner of your screen. Select Manage Your Google Account.

Step 2: Tap on Data and Personalization.

delete YouTube on Android screenshot
screenshot

Step 3: Under the section labeled Download, Delete, or Make a Plan for Your Data, select Delete a Service or Your Account.

Step 4: On the next screen, tap Delete a Service. You’ll be prompted to log in again. Do so. Afterward, you’ll be given the option to download your data before deleting your YouTube channel. If you want to do so, tap on Download Data. If you’re ready to delete your YouTube channel, tap on the trash can icon next to YouTube.

Delete YouTube on Android step 4 screenshot
screenshot

Step 5: You’ll be asked to log in again. Do so. Then, tap on the option labeled I Want to Permanently Delete My Content. Selecting this option will expand it into a short explanation of what this decision actually means with a check box next to it. Read the explanation, and then select the check box if you understand it and still want to delete your YouTube channel.

Step 6: When you’re ready to delete your YouTube channel, tap on the blue Delete My Content button.

Delete your YouTube channel for iOS

Deleting your YouTube channel on iOS is pretty simple and can be done right from the YouTube app. Just follow these steps.

Step 1: From the Home Screen, tap on your Profile icon in the top-right corner and click Manage Your Google Account.

Step 2: Click on Data and Personalization from the top tab. Scroll down and click Delete a Service or Your Account.

Step 3: From there, you can decide to delete individual services or your Google account entirely. To delete your YouTube channel, select Delete a Google Service. You will be prompted to enter your password.

Step 4: After you enter your password, hit the Trash icon next to YouTube, and all of your data will be removed.

That’s it! Your account is now deleted.

Editors’ Recommendations






Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *