You can unsend messages on Instagram
The app allows its users to delete messages from a chat irrespective of when it was sent. This can simply be done by tapping and holding the particular message that you want to remove from the conversation which will show you an option called “Unsend” on the screen. This option works on re-shared posts, images from your phone’s gallery and even text messages that are exchanged. Readers must note that this will remove the message from the conversation for both the parties. As useful as this feature may be, it does become futile if the person has a screenshot of the messages from your chat.
You can send disappearing messages
A recently introduced feature, this you can do by making use of the Vanish Mode on the app. This mode can be turned on by swiping up on your mobile device in an existing chat thread and can be turned off the same way by swiping up again. When this mode is turned on, the messages exchanged in the chat will disappear once everyone who is part of the chat has seen it. Another cool thing about this feature is that one person can turn on the mode for everyone who is part of the chat.
You can browse posts with friends
This is possible through a feature that Instagram calls ‘Co-Watching.’ Thanks to this, you can browse content on Instagram— whether it is saved, liked, and recommended posts or movies, IGTV videos, reels — with up to 5 other users of the app during video calls. This can be done by tapping on Media at the bottom of an active video chat from where you can select whatever you want to watch together with others.
You can limit the time you spend on the app
If you are among those people who end up spending all their free time on this app, then this feature is for you. The app comes with a native feature to help its users to manage the time they spend on the app. This they can do by going to their profile and tapping on the three horizontal lines and opening ‘your activity’. Here, you will find an option called ‘set daily reminder’ where you can select an amount of time you daily wish to spend on the app, after which you will get a notification about the same.
You can see all the posts you have ever liked
Hitting the heart icon is probably the most common thing you do on Instagram, but finding all the posts that you have liked from all the people you follow is a hidden space on the app. For this, you have to tap on the three horizontal lines icon on your profile page and open ‘Settings.’ From here, you will have to open ‘Account’ and tap on ‘Posts you’ve liked.’
You can restrict profiles that you can’t block but you wish you could
If you have some people on your Instagram account that you wish you could block but due to some obligation you cannot, then there is an option to restrict them. Think of it as a toned-down version of a block as doing this will hide their comments and messages will be hidden from your profile. Only you and the person you want to restrict will be able to see their comments on your posts and their messages to you will move to message requests.