WhatsApp will not delete your account immediately, but restrict access
“To give you enough time to review changes at your own pace and convenience, we’ve extended the effective date to May 15th. If you haven’t accepted by then, WhatsApp will not delete your account. However, you won’t have full functionality of WhatsApp until you accept,” says the company on its FAQ page.
Users will be able to receive calls and notifications, but won’t be able to read or send messages
“For a short time, you’ll be able to receive calls and notifications, but won’t be able to read or send messages from the app,” says the company.
Once the account is deleted, users cannot get it back
As per WhatsApp, the account deletion will be permanent and something that will not be reversed. “It is something we cannot reverse…,” says the company.
Users message history will be erased
The entire message history of users will be erased permanently.
Users will be removed from all WhatsApp groups
The users who don’t accept the policy will be automatically removed from all WhatsApp groups they are part of.
Entire WhatsApp backup will be deleted
Users will lose their entire WhatsApp backup. The company is, however, giving users the option to take backup of their account before May 15.
Users can export their chat history before May 15
“Before May 15th, you can export your chat history on Android or iPhone, and download a report of your account,” says the company.
Policy related to inactive users will apply after May 15
“You can still accept the updates after May 15th. Our policy related to inactive users will apply,” says WhatsApp. As per the inactive users’ policy, “Content stored locally on a user’s device prior to account deletion will remain until WhatsApp is deleted from the device. When a user reregisters for WhatsApp on the same device, their locally stored content will reappear.”